Open to speakers, sponsors and media of the annual Terroir Symposium, the Rural Retreat is a way to reconnect with the people and places that make Ontario's food scene worth celebrating. This year, we're heading to South Pond Farms in The Kawarthas.

Chefs from +18 Feast On Certified Restaurants, are coming together to prepare a locally-inspired feast over fires on the farm.

You won't want to miss this!
 

 

SCENES FROM THE 2019 #FEASTON RURAL RETREAT

Photographs by Ash Nayler Photography


THE 2019 RURAL RETREAT CHEFS

RICKY + OLIVIA  FEAST ON AMBASSADORS

RICKY + OLIVIA
FEAST ON AMBASSADORS

TYLER SCOTT  RARE

TYLER SCOTT
RARE

NICK BENNINGER  TACO FARM

NICK BENNINGER
TACO FARM

DANIEL HOLLOWAY  URBAN ACORN

DANIEL HOLLOWAY
URBAN ACORN

FORREST LIU  TERRE ROUGE

FORREST LIU
TERRE ROUGE

DANIELLE FRENCH  SOUTH POND FARMS

DANIELLE FRENCH
SOUTH POND FARMS

BRIANNA + STEVE HUMPHERY  RADICAL GARDENS

BRIANNA + STEVE HUMPHERY
RADICAL GARDENS

ISAAC MEADOWS  THE MILL

ISAAC MEADOWS
THE MILL

BENJAMIN LILLICO  RICH UNCLE TAVERN

BENJAMIN LILLICO
RICH UNCLE TAVERN

RODNEY BOWERS  CENTENNIAL COLLEGE

RODNEY BOWERS
CENTENNIAL COLLEGE

JAMES EDDINGTON  EDDINGTONS OF EXETER

JAMES EDDINGTON
EDDINGTONS OF EXETER

JOHN MORRIS  360 AT THE CN TOWER

JOHN MORRIS
360 AT THE CN TOWER

JULIA GRAHAM  THE QUIRKY CARROT

JULIA GRAHAM
THE QUIRKY CARROT

BRAD WATT  PUBLICAN HOUSE

BRAD WATT
PUBLICAN HOUSE

FO_socialmedia.jpg
SAM + ERIC BOYAR  SXTHIRTYNINE

SAM + ERIC BOYAR
SXTHIRTYNINE

ALBERT PONZO  THE ROYAL HOTEL

ALBERT PONZO
THE ROYAL HOTEL

JAY NUTT  ELMHIRST RESORT

JAY NUTT
ELMHIRST RESORT

ERIC DREHER  THE SOCIAL BAR + TABLE

ERIC DREHER
THE SOCIAL BAR + TABLE


A LOOK AT WHAT THE RURAL RETREAT IS ALL ABOUT…

Chef Nick Benninger has cooked at FIVE Rural Retreats.
Here’s a look at the PB+J Boyscout Bannock he and Chef Ben LeBlanc-Beaudoin cooked up in 2018.


As well as South 50 Farm, Hidden Shoe Farms, Merrylynd Organics, Harley Farms, Hidden Shoe Farm, Linwood Acres, William Street Beer Co, Smithhavens Brewing, Belmont Lake, Empire Cider and Circle Organics.


 

Food Producers

  • South 50 Farms, James Sculthorpe sculthorpej@gmail.com www.south50farms.com

  • True Saffron, Martin info@truesaffron.ca www.truesaffron.ca

  • Merrylynd Organics, Peter Leahy merrylynd@nexicom.net

  • Harley Farms, Emily and James harleyfarms.emily@gmail.com

  • Black Duck Wild Rice, James Whetung jamesw@live.ca

  • Puddleduck Farm, Merridy and Eben puddleduckfarm@nexicom.net www.puddleduckfarm.ca

  • Hidden Shoe Farm, Stephanie Keeble stephaniekeeble@gmail.com

  • Linwood Acres, Jim linwoodacres@sympatico.ca

  • Popham Lane, Joe Hayes pophamlanefarm@gmail.com pophamlanefarm.ca

  • Forager's Farms, Tyler and Erin foragersfarms@gmail.com Www.foragersfarms.ca

  • Cross Wind Farms, Kelly kelly@crosswindfarm.ca

  • Little Leaf Farms, info@littleleaffarms.ca  www.littleleaffarms.ca

  • South Pond Farms, Danielle danielle@southpondfarms.ca www.southpondfarms.ca

  • Empire Cheese, Vicki vicki@empirecheese.ca www.empirecheese.ca

  • Bickle Farms Valley Hops, Brandon brandon.bickle@gmail.com

  • Circle Organics, Julie and Andrew farm@circleorganic.ca

  • Lunar Rhythm Gardens, Jessica Foote lunarrhythmgardens@gmail.com lunargardens.ca

Beverage Producers

  • William Street Beer Co., Sean Walpole sean@williamstreetbeer.com

  • Smithhavens Brewing, Toby info@smithavensbrewing.ca www.smithavensbrewing.ca

  • Publican House, Kim Cranfield kim@publicanhouse.com

  • Belmont Lake Spirits

  • Black's Distillery, Robert Blackmaclaumuinn@gmail.com www.blacksdistillery.com

  • Rolling Grape, Ron Drew info@rollinggrape.com www.rollinggrape.com

  • Empire Cider, Chris McRae chris@empirecider.ca


072A4182.jpg
JDP_6716.jpg

featuring ontario vqa wines by


ABOUT FEAST ON

 

For locals and travellers alike, FEAST ON™ is a criteria-based program that recognizes businesses committed to showcasing Ontario’s unique tastes of place.

Supporting our local economy and Ontario’s hard-working farmers and artisans is important. Especially for foodservice. It builds our local food identity, it puts dollars back into our communities and it limits our environmental impact.

A Feast On™ certification proves you’re fighting the good fight. It lets people know that by choosing your restaurant, they’re supporting our food system too.

Last year, Feast On™ restaurants bought more than $24,000,000 worth of Ontario food & beverage. 

THAT’S A PRETTY BIG DEAL.

 

SCENES FROM THE 2019 RURAL RETREAT